The Rainbow Commission was created by the Arlington, Massachusetts, Town Meeting in 2017 (by-law II, article 13). The Commission’s purpose is to promote equality-affirming policies regarding the full spectrum of sexual orientations and gender identities, and bring greater visibility and empowerment to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual (and more) population through education, advocacy, and collaboration with other Town agencies, schools, and community groups. Click here to learn more about Arlington’s Town commissions.


The Town of Arlington will promote full inclusion of the LGBTQIA+ community in all aspects of Town life.


We are a volunteer group of Arlington residents, appointed by the Town government, to promote full inclusion of LGBTQIA+ individuals and groups through affirming policies and programs, resources, advocacy and community building.


The Commission has 9 volunteer members: 8 appointed by the Town Manager and subject to the approval of the Select Board, and 1 appointed by the School Committee.

Commissioners: Paloma Cotton-Herman, Molly Gillis, Laura Gitelson, Kym Goldsmith, Lisa Krinsky (co-chair), Helene Newberg, Susan Ryan-Vollmar (co-chair), Andy Rubinson, and Kari Sasportas

Volunteer Opportunities

Sign up to volunteer or receive email newsletters from the Commission.

More Info

Past newsletters:
Report to December 2018 Town Meeting (PDF)
2017 Annual Report:

All email correspondence with the Rainbow Commission is subject to public review under the Massachusetts Public Records Law.